A little bit about us

This is my first blog post.  I can’t promise it’s the first of many nor that it will not be my last.  The whole point of this blog is for me to get things out, because reality is that I have no where else to get them out at the moment.  

I live in a small rural farm town in Southwest Missouri.  I have been married to the love of my life, best friend and sometimes arch nemesis for almost 14 years.  We have three beautiful, rambuncious children.  My oldest is J, my middle one is Roo and the baby is Sissy Lou.  We also have another baby (often referred to as my third son) Sherman.  Sherman is a full blooded White Boxer and is Roo’s best bud and partner in crime.

Two years ago, our Roo, was diagnosed with High functioning Autism or Asperger’s Syndrome.   While it has taken awhile for my husband to come around to the diagnosis, we are finally on the same page and doing everything we can to raise a happy, healthy little boy.  Our goal is not to take away or change his Autism but to make sure he lives his life to the fullest and teach him how to manage his differences. 

What about me, Hmmm… Well I am to say the very least a little complicated 🙂 I think my friends would say that I’m onry, honest, and loyal. – a tad bit sarcstic 🙂 and always passionate ( Ok, they might use the word dramatic, but in my defensive it’s just that I love with my whole heart and jump in feet first :/ ) At this point, my oldest would say I’m mean and my youngest says I’m silly and my Roo, my Roo say’s I’m his safe place!  I am not always right, and sometimes go off before I have time to process a situation.  But I am not afraid to say I was wrong, and do everything I can to correct myself.

One of my favorite statements that I have heard since we started this journey is If you have met one person with Autism, then you have met one person with Autism.”  I don’t know who or where it originally came from but it has helped me tremendously.  It reminds me that my son is a beautiful and unique individual and comparing him to others either good or bad is wrong and only limits his potential.  I don’t have all the answer’s, I know what has worked for us and what’s not working for us.  Other than that, my goal for this blog is to share our experiences and hopefully give support to other’s in this process as well as get a little myself.

Leave a Reply

